Regional Services

Niagara’s Regional government is responsible for public health, emergency services, garbage collection, community services, enterprise and resource management, planning and development services, some roads and public works.

Municipal Services

Niagara’s twelve municipal governments are responsible for services to residents such as snow removal, parks and recreation and some roads. Municipalities also have a major role in land development, business regulations and civic and cultural activities. Elementary and secondary schools are operated by local school boards.

The Niagara region is home to 12 municipalities, each with their own municipal government.